In preparation for the busiest time of the year in sports, we are releasing an update to how our game delete process works. In the past, games were completely removed from your account. The new process marks the game as deleted, instead of completely removing it from the system. The change has many benefits, but introduces a few temporary changes.
- Site Performance: The change cuts the run time from up to 6:00 minutes down to as little as 2 seconds! With all of the pieces relating to games, the new process has to do a lot less. On top of being faster for those running the delete, it will avoid lockups for other clients.
- Easier Restores: If you happen to delete a game, or many games, and wish you could get the game back quickly, we can help much more effectively now.
- Archived Information: Many clients have told us that they would like to remove things from their account to avoid clutter, but do not want to permanently lose the information. Our new delete process allows us to archive data for future use.
With the changes to the delete process, the following items will be temporarily disabled. We will restore these functions as soon as possible. In the meantime, we have provided a workaround for each item.
- Cannot delete sports, levels, or positions on deleted games - If you have any deleted games, you will not be able to delete the sports, levels, or positions for those games. Workaround: Rename the sport or level "DELETED" so that others know not to use it. Since the games for this sport would already be deleted, only those entering games would see the sport option. Once the ability to fully delete is restored, you can delete any renamed sports and levels.
- Cannot unrank officials on deleted games - If an official is assigned to a game that has been deleted, you cannot unrank the official for positions within the sport of that game. Workaround: Rank the official as 999 so that they do not receive assignments.
- Cannot reuse gameIDs - Each game added will continue incrementing from the previous game IDs. We do not plan to change how this works.